Workforce Development




Back Row left to right are City of Natchez Attorney Brian Callaway, District 5 County Supervisor Warren Gaines, District 1 County Supervisor Wes Middleton, Ward 6 Alderman Dan Dillard, Natchez-Adams School Superintendent Fred Butcher and Deputy Superintendent Zandra McDonald. Middle row from left are County Manager Angela King, Natchez Inc. Executive Director Chandler Russ, School Board President Phillip West, School Board Member Thelma Newsome, School Board Member Dianne Bunch, Ward 4 Alderwoman Felicia Irving. Front row from left are County Attorney Scott Slover, War 1 Alderwoman Valencia Hall, School Board Member Amos James, Natchez Mayor Dan Gibson and Adams County Board President Angela Hutchins.

The Board of Aldermen for the City of Natchez, the Adams County Board of Supervisors along with the Natchez Adams County School Board held a historic Special Called Joint Meeting today, Wednesday, December 1, 2021, at 10:30 am, becoming the first City, County and School Boards in the State of Mississippi, to create the position and hire a Workforce Development Director. Ms. Tuwanna Williams was hired with an unanimous vote from all three boards today at the Special Called Joint Meeting. 

After the unanimous vote, the City of Natchez Mayor Dan Gibson said, “This is history in the making… we now are one of the very first cities, county school boards in Mississippi to do this.”

Ms. Williams will technically be a City employee but will have shared remuneration considerations with the Adams County Board of Supervisors and cooperation with Natchez, Inc. 

President Angela Hutchins stated, “I am so happy this has happened. I have been waiting for this to happen for a long time.” 

Supervisor Warren Gaines added, “As long as it is working for the community, we will continue to work together.”

Representing the City Board of Aldermen, Valencia Hall (Ward 1), Sarah Carter Smith (Ward 3), Felicia Bridgewater-Irving (Ward 4) and Dan Dillard (Ward 6), as well as City Clerk, Megan McKenzie and City Attorney Brian Callaway. 

Representing the Adams County Board of Supervisors; Wes Middleton (District 1), Kevin Wilson (District 2), President Angela G. Hutchins, (District 3), James ‘Ricky’ Gray (District 4), and Warren Gaines (District 5), and County Attorney Scott Slover. 

Representing the Adams County School Board; Amos James, Jr. (President), Phillip West (Vice President), Dr. Cecile Dianne Bunch (Secretary), Dr. Brenda Robinson (Asst. Secretary), and Thelma Newsome.


Tuwanna Higgins-Williams

(601) 445-0288